New to crabbing and wanted to intro myself and the gang

Ask any hermit crab care questions in the appropriate section.
Onyxsun1
Zygote
Zygote

New to crabbing and wanted to intro myself and the gang

Post by Onyxsun1 »

My name is Kathy and I am fairly new to crabbing. My 17 year old son bought a couple of crabs when we went to the beach for Octoberfest. He got them in a tourist shop and we didnt pay too much for them. He was enthralled with them but couldnt bring himself to handle them much. He thought they would pinch. Anyway he named one Axel and the other Gear. We brought them home and two weeks later we couldnt find axel. My son found him under his gravel and dug him up. Later on both his claws fell off and he died the next day. I felt really bad and started researching crab care. I was mortified to find out that he buried himself to help in the healing process and to unstress. He paid the ultimate price for our stupidity. But now I know better. About a week later my son saw another crab in a pet store that was bigger than Gear so he bought him. He named him Clutch. My son still wont handle the crabs but I do. I think they are great little creatures. A couple of weeks later I purchased some fairly good sized crabs from a crab store as well as a book and some crab toys and a real good heater. I named the crabs Block and Piston. Do you see a recuring theme here? Well anyway they are all doing well at least for now. One thing I have noticed is that Clutch is ashen on his top part right above his eyes. He is active at night and likes to be misted. I am certain that his shell is too small but he refuses to change into a larger shell. There are several to choose from. I am hoping that he isnt putting off a moult for whatever reasons. I also havent figured out what kind of crabs I have but after reading that some types of crabs need salt water I went and purchased some stuff to make crab friendly salt water. Now every morning the salt water is almost gone and it look