Questions about crabsitting and transporting hermit crabs.
thegatti
Zygote
Zygote
Hermit crabs: 5
Total gallons: 20
Total tanks: 1

Post by thegatti »

Hello, I am pretty new to keeping hermit crabs. I have two hermit crabs which I have had for a few months. Their names are Herbert and Sherbert. I'm not sure what sort they are but I live in Aus if that helps. They are living in a 20l tank with desert sand as the substrate. I have a UTH but I'm constantly turning it on and off cause it gets too hot. My crabs also have a sponge in the fresh water. It looks like they're molting now as they are buried. I am doing a bit of a deep clean around them and it is hard to dry the sand. I have it in a bucket near my fireplace. Is there any other way to dry it besides the oven?
emmac350
Coenobita
Coenobita
Hermit crabs: 6
Total gallons: 40
Total tanks: 2

Re: Newbie

Post by emmac350 »

Drying your sand isn't necessary - many crabbers use damp sand with their crabs. As long as it isn't soaking wet, but more like a 'sandcastle' consistency, it's fine for your crabs. If your crabs bury to molt, they need the sand to be able to hold the caves they make. Additionally, what is your humidity range in your tank? There is another crabber who has a wood-burning stove in her house for wintertime, and she finds that it dries out the tank more than is safe for the crabs, so having damp sand will help your tank maintain proper humidity. She does use dry sand as her substrate, but she uses small glass votive candleholders with marbles or glass pebbles in them that she fills with water and puts in the substrate to keep her humidity up.

Did you bake your sand before trying to dry it? Baking is recommended to kill any bacteria in the sand. To do it, spread it on a baking sheet and bake at 150 C for half an hour. That helps to dry it out as well.