How to plug in UTH

Questions about temperature and humidity.
Post Reply
User avatar
Perthcrabber
Zygote
Zygote
Posts: 18
Joined: Sat Apr 24, 2021 10:19 am
Gender: Female
Hermit crabs: 3
Total gallons: 25
Total tanks: 3
Location: Perth,WA

How to plug in UTH

Post by Perthcrabber »

Hi,

my tank is on my bookshelf and there is a powerpoint behind it, but I can't get the plug behind it.

plz help!

thanks Daisy
Daisy Hameister
User avatar
Wai
Administrator
Administrator
Posts: 2848
Joined: Mon Nov 01, 2004 2:12 pm
Gender: Male
Hermit crabs: 2
Total gallons: 45
Total tanks: 1
Location: VIC, Australia
Contact:

Re: How to plug in UTH

Post by Wai »

You mean the cord is not long enough? Usually the UTH is stuck on the bottom outside surface of the tank. If the tank is sitting on the shelf, you're going to need to elevate it so that the UTH and slip underneath, but still have free flowing air between the UTH and the shelf so that it doesn't overheat and catch on fire. Perhaps share a photo?
Wai
Image
User avatar
Perthcrabber
Zygote
Zygote
Posts: 18
Joined: Sat Apr 24, 2021 10:19 am
Gender: Female
Hermit crabs: 3
Total gallons: 25
Total tanks: 3
Location: Perth,WA

Re: How to plug in UTH

Post by Perthcrabber »

No its on the side of the tank
I have my tank on a runner mat
Daisy Hameister
User avatar
Wai
Administrator
Administrator
Posts: 2848
Joined: Mon Nov 01, 2004 2:12 pm
Gender: Male
Hermit crabs: 2
Total gallons: 45
Total tanks: 1
Location: VIC, Australia
Contact:

Re: How to plug in UTH

Post by Wai »

If the UTH is on the side of the tank, it's probably not doing much to heat the tank inside and is just a waste of electricity. Is it not possible to relocate the UTH to underneath the tank?
Wai
Image
Post Reply