NewHermieFam
Zygote
Zygote
Hermit crabs: 3
Total gallons: 11
Total tanks: 2

Added heat, losing humidity?

Post by NewHermieFam »

I'm new to having hermies and the first 2 weeks in our 10 gallon tank, I had no problems with humidity (usually between 75-82). I had a small size side heater that only bumped the tank 2 degrees to about 74. After research this didn't seem warm enough so yesterday I added a medium heater to the back of the tank and now the humidity keeps plummeting!! The med heater bumps the tank another 3 degrees to about 77-78. That doesn't seem too hot but my humidity keeps dropping to 60 or as low as 50! I keep spraying, I have sponges in the fresh non-chlorinated water (which seemed to work like a charm before) and now have added natural moss and am spraying that too! What am I doing wrong? Is the 2nd heater too much?
Thank you for any help!!
-Amanda
New Mom to Elliott, now molting Addison & freshly molted Sabastian
NewHermieFam
Zygote
Zygote

Re: Added heat, losing humidity?

Post by NewHermieFam »

I have pictures if I can figure out how to add them... Maybe on PC. Right now 80 degrees, 60% humidity and wet in there! And I sprayed again!:( frustrated
NewHermieFam
Zygote
Zygote

Post by NewHermieFam »

image.jpeg
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
emmac350
Coenobita
Coenobita
Hermit crabs: 6
Total gallons: 40

Post by emmac350 »

You have run into the laws of physics/meteorology, I'm afraid. Let's see. Humidity is a measure of how much moisture is in the air compared to how much moisture the air could hold. The warmer your air is, the more water it can hold. So while the amount of actual water vapor in your air is the same, if the air temperature is higher your humidity level will be lower.