Ellesedil
Zygote
Zygote
Hermit crabs: 3
Total gallons: 10
Total tanks: 1

Example tank setups for new owners?

Post by Ellesedil »

Hi all. I'm new to hermit crab ownership (it's been 4 days) and have been reading everything I can. I have three crabs, and starting to realize that I've probably been trying to skip before learning to walk when it comes to crab ownership. I've been reading as much as I can about terrarium setups, because a good amount of my setup is based on conversations at the large pet stores near by and a ZooMed 10 gallon hermit crab kit.

The directions in the care guide and similar sources are great, which is why I'm looking at revising our current setup and already considering doubling the tank size. One thing that has been hard to really understand is what a tank should look like once it has been setup well. The guide does a great job trying to describe it, but having some great examples of properly setup tanks (and descriptions as to why it's a quality setup) to compare to as a basis for my own tank would be super helpful. Because that kind of reliable information is hard to discover and validate for a new owner given how pet stores and the internet works.

I realize there can be a lot of variation for a good tank setup, and that's kind of the problem because it can be really easy to have a tank that's not ideal. So, is there a resource somewhere with a variety of quality example setups (simple, complicated, in between, whatever) that are more or less validated by the community? Because outside of just random images on Facebook and web searches, I haven't really found that yet and it would be useful for me to understand if there are other qualities about my terrarium that might need to be revised.
Wai
Administrator
Administrator
Hermit crabs: 2
Total gallons: 45

Re: Example tank setups for new owners?

Post by Wai »