My crab is out of his shell

Questions about unexpected problems.
Tammy
Zygote
Zygote
Hermit crabs: 5

My crab is out of his shell

Post by Tammy »

Hello: I am fairly new to crabbing. My largest crab whom I've had since Sat Feb 14 is out of his shell. Upon receiving 4 new hermit crabs I put in an assortment of shells in case any wanted to change. My biggest crab sat in front of the largest shell for about 1 1/2 days. I just saw him and his old shell was in the water dish and he was naked. What is he doing? Is this odd behaviour? Is he going to pick a new shell? I took the old shell out of the water and placed it close to him. I'm working from home today so I can run upstairs in a few minutes to check on him.
emmac350
Coenobita
Coenobita
Hermit crabs: 6
Total gallons: 40
Total tanks: 2

Re: My crab is out of his shell

Post by emmac350 »

Tammy,

This question doesn't belong in this section (it should be in "Streaking") but I'll go ahead and try to get more information about your crabs.

What type of tank or container do your crabs live in? What type of substrate (bedding) is in there? What kinds of foods and waters (dechlorinator brand if applicable or type of treatment on the water, salt water mix brand if applicable) do you offer? How warm and how humid is the tank? Did you get all the crabs at once? If not, did you isolate all of them to ensure that they didn't have any diseases or mites? Also, have you handled your crabs since getting them? If so, how often? Do you use any perfumes, lotions, or air fresheners in the room the tank is in? Do you wash your hands before handling the crabs to ensure no irritants are transferred to them?

I'll offer some suggestions as to what would help your crab as soon as I can get more information about the situation. All of the questions I have asked have an impact on your crabs' stress level, so please let me know! And if I don't know the answer, I'm sure someone else on here would!