Don't know how good tank is, and hermits are all dormant

Ask any hermit crab care questions in the appropriate section.
Love the hermits
Zygote
Zygote
Hermit crabs: 5
Total gallons: 20
Total tanks: 1

Don't know how good tank is, and hermits are all dormant

Post by Love the hermits »

So i have a 20 gal long and four hermit crabs. They are all more often then not hiding in a log or somewhere. Are they ok, sorry if this question sounds dumb but I'm rather new with them. also I don't know how good my setup is so how do i post pics of it to get feedback? Thanks!
appps
Zoea III
Zoea III
Hermit crabs: 6
Total gallons: 57

Re: Don't know how good tank is, and hermits are all dormant

Post by appps »

Depending on how busy the area is you have them it can take them a while to get used to our comings and goings and not stay hidden. They have to get used to the idea you aren't going to eat them :-)

Not sure if it's the same on the computer but on my ipad there is an attach files button below where you type your message, select your photo through that and upload and it will show up at the end of your message when you post.

If you want it somewhere in particular in your message, put the curser where you want it and select the place inline option.
Annette
Carer of 5 Australian Land Hermit Crabs
Fili & Voldemort since 12/07/2011
Turbo since 29/09/2011
Frederickson & Kai 12/02/2012
and our new addition Stripey Ninja 25/10/2014

Our Crab tank setup & Journal -http://crabbycreatures.wordpress.com
Love the hermits
Zygote
Zygote

Alright, I've had them for upwards of 3-4 weeks now, is that normal? Sorry if these questions seem stupid but online sites are anything but consistent and have tons of misguided information. Also just wondering why did my one molt then move to a smaller shell that she does not fit into? I have 6 shells that are more her size but the chose the one small one that i got for another of my crabs, he is a bit smaller ten the others
Ginger
Zoea II
Zoea II