OMG What happened to my hermie?!

Questions about unexpected problems.
Spedane
Zygote
Zygote

Post by Spedane »

I just came home from work this evening and found one of my 4 hermies....I don't know how to explain it....all his legs and claws just...well..fell off! It looks as though he was just walking along the sand and something came directly down on him and crushed him snapping off all his limbs. I've never seen anything like it! There is nothing that fell on him nor is there anything in the tank that would be heavy enough to do this if it did. If I didn't live alone, I would suspect foul play! Seriously, I'm at a loss. I have no idea what this is. Do they just loose limbs like this? I don't think so. My other crabs are FAR from aggressive. They have always gotten along well together and are all healthy. I haven't touched him yet, I ran straight to the forum to seek advise before I do anything since I'm still a newbie. But the 2 years I've had crabs, I have never seen this before nor did I expect it. Does anyone know what is happening? I feel soooo bad for him as I take very good care of all my pets.....
Jaci
Coenobita
Coenobita

Post by Jaci »

Is your crab able to move? Do you know when the last time he moulted was? What you might try is put him in isolation if you notice he's having problems moving around. Make sure that it's humid and dark. I don't know if it always happens, but the first crab that I lost, lost his big claw and 2 legs. He passed away soon after. I'd keep a close eye on him. I'm a newbie also, but I hope that this helps! Good Luck!
senorcrab01
Zygote
Zygote

Post by senorcrab01 »