Jpriest454
Zygote
Zygote
Hermit crabs: 2
Total gallons: 10
Total tanks: 1

A pair of shy guys

Post by Jpriest454 »

Hello, im fairly new to caring for these little guys so apologies if I'm doing anything wrong. I want the best for my new pet hermit crabs. I purchased a Rangoon, my hermit, from a boardwalk souvenir shop around a month ago. If anyone has been to the jersey shore they know about the literal dozens of shops selling hermies on the boardwalk. I bought one, as it's always been something i wanted as when i was a kid, on impulse and quickly learned how much care these little dorks can be. Having learned theyre social animals i bought the Rangoon a girlfriend named cakes, and quickly set up their tank. I keep the pair in a 10 gallon tank with about 2 inches of calcium sand as the bedding. They have access to fresh and salt water, salt bought by the bottle from the pet store and fresh from the tap. (I know that isnt the best for them but money is a bit tight with college). Their food is a store bought brand of meal that i mix with coconut, some eggshell, and water to make a little paste. Recently ive been giving it to them dry and they seem to prefer it that way. I notice much more dry meal eaten than when it's wet. I make sure to keep them warm and humid by spraying their tank with a spray bottle nightly and keeping a heating pad on the side of their tank. The thermometer and humidity guage say all is well in there.