Zygote
Zygote
Hermit crabs: 3
Total gallons: 335
Total tanks: 3

Where to get a large bag of safe Hermit sand

Post by FeltonandPhelps »

Hi,
I'm a new Hermit Crab carer, and quite inexperienced. I've had my three beautiful Hermits for 1 or 2 Months now, and they're currently living in a 25 gallon tank. At my home, we also used to have Turtle in a massive 300 Gallon tank (As far as I can tell, I'm not too good with numbers.).
Now that our turtle, Zen, is gone, I had an amazing idea that I've been fantasizing about for quite some time; how amazing the turtle tank would be for my Hermit Crabs. Like a Hermit (Excuse the pun.) Paradise.

While this idea is going to take quite a lot of time and patience, I first just really need to know if anyone knows where to get a large bag of safe Hermit sand. Or, at-least a bag big enough to cover the base of a 4ft width, 2ft length tank. That also has a small second story.
I really don't want to risk play sand (Which my Hermits are already unfortunately living in.) or sand from outside or the beach.

Thanks,
FeltonandPhelps.
emmac350
Coenobita
Coenobita
Hermit crabs: 6
Total gallons: 40
Total tanks: 2

Re: Where to get a large bag of safe Hermit sand

Post by emmac350 »

You can try aquarium sand in that section of your pet store (or a specialty aquarium store in your area). Unfortunately, I doubt if anything will be too cost-effective. Your best bet will be either all eco-earth (coconut fiber) or a mix of the fiber and your existing sand. The coconut fiber is usually much cheaper than sand, is sold in bricks, and if expanded with your ocean water mix (even a less-salty version will work for expanding) shouldn't have any issues with mold. Bonus - it holds humidity amazingly and my crabs all seem to love it. They molted in coconut fiber when it was only in the upper levels (as opposed to the rest of the tank that was full of sand...>.>).
Follow the daily lives of my crabs at thedailyhermit.tumblr.com

Mommy to: